A one-of-a-kind product becomes a trusted infant care brand

“Transparency’s name reflects its benefit for everyone who registers. It has certainly brought added value to our product. ”

Emil Ninni and Giacomo Romani,
Founders of Koala Babycare

From childhood friends to business partners

Koala Babycare’s founders, Emil and Giacomo, met in the halls of their local secondary school in Pesaro — a small city on Italy’s Adriatic coast.

As often happens, they lost touch after they left school. That is until they bumped into each other while working at the same company. It was there that they reconnected over their shared dreams of using their engineering degrees to have a positive impact and make the world a better place.

Getting creative with science

As luck — or fate — would have it, Giacomo became an uncle around this time.

Meanwhile, Emil’s partner, who worked at a nursery school, often shared stories of flat-head syndrome, a condition in which infants’ heads flatten because they spend too much time lying on their backs.

This sparked an idea.

And after months of research and experiments, Emil and Giacomo had in their hands the prototype of the first-ever pillow designed specifically to gently cradle infants’ heads and preserve their natural shapes.

The wrong kind of attention

By May 2017, Emil and Giacomo were ready to launch their product.
There was just one problem.

While imitation might be the highest form of flattery, it’s bad for business and simply negligent and dangerous when it comes to the safety of a child.

Research has found that 58% of parents worry about product authenticity when they’re shopping for baby-care products. What’s more, 72% would stop buying a product if they read that there were counterfeits on the market that could be potentially harmful to their little ones.

After all their hard work, this was something Emil and Giacomo could not risk.

Protecting the Koala Babycare brand with Amazon

Around this time, Emil and Giacomo turned to Amazon to further develop their online business model. They soon discovered that Amazon had a range of programmes designed to empower businesses to grow and protect their brand.

One important aspect was the Amazon Brand Registry, a programme that enables owners to protect the trademark rights of their products and brands to create a trusted customer experience.

By registering with Brand Registry, Emil and Giacomo got access to enhanced features such as A+ Content, Sponsored Brands, Brand Analytics, and various other brand protection tools that allowed them to easily detect and report violations.

“Brand Registry gave us the opportunities we needed to grow and protect our brand. We could run searches and report suspicious listings and Amazon would take immediate action.”

These opportunities were instrumental in growing their business. Before long, their pillow was one of the most sought after baby-care accessories in Europe.
Amazon paved the way for that success. Amazon made it possible for our business to succeed on the European market. Since 2017, our revenue has tripled year on year. And 80% of our revenue comes from our Amazon storefront.
Needless to say, Emil and Giacomo were over the moon. But their success also made them more conscious than ever of the need to protect their brand, their newfound customers, and their hard-won reputation every step of the way.
So when they came across Transparency — a programme from Amazon that would allow them to proactively protect their products and customers from counterfeiting — enrolling was the natural next step.

A straightforward process from start to finish

Emil and Giacomo started off by registering just one product. This was their best seller and was most at risk of being counterfeited.

Signing up and getting onboarded was straightforward. But, more importantly, the benefits were almost immediate.

“Transparency gives us confidence. Every single product we sell has a unique code, so we can make sure that potential counterfeiters don’t profit from our hard work.”

But it's not just Emil and Giacomo themselves who have benefited from this boost of confidence in their product.

“We can let every customer who buys the product to verify its authenticity using just their smartphone.”

Joining Transparency has created a virtuous cycle.

Positive customer reviews are increasing, which is boosting Koala Babycare’s reputation. In turn, this is encouraging more customers to buy their products, which means that their sales and revenue are growing.
All in all, joining Transparency has led to an immediate 10% uplift in revenue.
Emil Ninni and Giacomo RomaniFounders of Koala Babycare

From strength to strength

When Transparency revealed it would be launching an in-app customer engagement feature, this was welcome news for Emil and Giacomo, who were among the first to sign up.

Alongside protection from counterfeits, the new feature allows customers to access rich branded content and exclusive promotions. Customers can also provide feedback and share their experiences of the brand on social media. This is all made possible by scanning a code with the specially developed Transparency app.

“It’s a huge opportunity for us because we can engage, cross-sell, upsell, or encourage repeat purchases at the moment when customers are most receptive to it ... not only have they just bought the product, it’s actually in their hands as they’re viewing this content.”

Emil and Giacomo are confident that this will mark the start of a new chapter in their company’s history that will see their brand grow and achieve bigger, better results.

Being transparent pays off

Koala Babycare started with one big idea — making a real difference in people’s everyday lives.

Amazon has been instrumental in bringing this vision to life. It has put Koala Babycare in front of a wide audience and equipped it with the right tools to help ensure customers continue to see it as a brand that they can trust.

Emil, Giacomo, and their customers can now sleep a little sounder knowing that Koala Babycare products are protected and authentic.

“Transparency is its own guarantee. I would recommend it to any brand that values its reputation and wants to protect it.”
LOCATION
Italy
BRANCH
Baby Care
AMAZON LAUNCH
2017

Get in touch with the Transparency team to find out more.

Two Amazon boxes

Read more case studies

Case studies

Express Pet Supplies

Express Pet Supplies is a family-run online pet supplies company that sells quality products. To reassure its customers and protect the quality of its products and reputation, Express Pet Supplies participates in the Transparency by Amazon anti-counterfeiting programme.
Case studies

Ociodual

Standing out from the crowd in the consumer electronics and computer accessories market is a major challenge. Ociodual protects product quality and its competitive advantage by leveraging Amazon brand protection programmes that prevent malicious actors from attempting to counterfeit their products.
Case studies

Loryarreda.com

The demand for high-quality furniture has increased as has the number of counterfeiters trying to take advantage of unprecedented demand. LoryArreda defends itself against counterfeiters with Transparency by Amazon.
Case studies

Windhorse

Windhorse sells grade A pottery from talented local artisans in Thailand. To prevent their products from being copied and sold as originals, founder David Richards registers his products with Amazon Brand Registry and enrols them in Transparency to prevent counterfeiting.
Amazon logo: Germany
© 2022 Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates

Ein einzigartiges Produkt wird zur vertrauenswürdigen Marke im Bereich der Kleinkinderpflege

„Der Name Transparency steht für den Vorteil, den jeder hat, der Teil davon wird. Unsere Produkte haben klar profitiert.“

Emil Ninni and Giacomo Romani,
Gründer von Koala Babycare

Von Schulfreunden zu Geschäftspartnern

Die Gründer von Koala Babycare, Emil und Giacomo, trafen sich vor langer Zeit in den Klassenzimmern Ihrer Oberschule in Pesaro – einer kleinen Stadt an der italienischen Adriaküste.

Wie so oft verloren Sie sich nach ihrem Abschluss aus den Augen, aber wie das Leben so spielt trafen sie sich wieder, als beide für das gleiche Unternehmen arbeiteten. Hier entdeckten sie ihren gemeinsamen Traum, sie wollten ihr Ingenieurstudium für etwas Positives einsetzen und die Welt zu einem besseren Ort machen.

Kreativität durch Wissenschaft

Zum Glück – oder schicksalhafterweise – wurde Giacomo genau in dieser Zeit zum Onkel.

Zur gleichen Zeit berichtete Emils Partner, eine Kindergärtnerin, öfter vom so genannten „Flat Head Syndrome“ bei Säuglingen – einer Erkrankung, bei der sich der Kopf eines kleinen Kindes abflacht, da es zu viel auf dem Rücken schläft.

Da hatten die beiden eine Idee.

Und nach Monaten von Nachforschungen und Experimenten, hielten Emil und Giacomo den ersten Prototypen ihres Kissens in den Händen, das speziell für die Köpfe kleiner Kinder entwickelt wurde und die natürliche Form des Kopfes erhalten soll.

Die falsche Art der Aufmerksamkeit

Im Mai 2017 waren Emil und Giacomo bereit, ihr Produkt auf den Markt zu bringen.
Es gab nur ein Problem.

Auch wenn man sagt, dass Nachahmung die höchste Form der Schmeichelei sei, für ein Unternehmen ist dies äußerst nachteilig und für kleine Kinder geradezu fahrlässig und gefährlich.

Umfragen haben ergeben, dass 58 % der Eltern sich Gedanken über die Authentizität ihrer Babyprodukte machen. Und 72 % würden ein Produkt nicht mehr kaufen, wenn es Fälschungen auf dem Markt gibt, die die Gesundheit ihres Kindes gefährden könnten.

Nach all der harten Arbeit, die Emil und Giacomo investiert hatten, konnten sie dieses Risiko nicht eingehen.

Schutz der Marke Koala Babycare durch Amazon

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatten sich Emil und Giacomo an Amazon gewendet, um ihr Online-Geschäftsmodell weiter auszubauen. Ihnen fiel schnell auf, dass Amazon eine ganze Reihe von Programmen anbot, die Unternehmen beim Wachstum helfen und ihre Marken schützen sollten.

Ein wichtiger Teil war die Amazon-Markenregistrierung, ein Programm, mit dem Inhaber der Markenrechte ihre Produkte und Marken schützen können, um so die beste Kundenerfahrung bieten zu können.

Durch die Registrierung bei der Markenregistrierung hatten Emil und Giacomo Zugriff auf erweiterte Funktionen, wie A+ Content, Sponsored Brands, Markenanalyse und diverse Marken-Tools, die es ihnen ermöglichten, Verstöße einfach festzustellen und zu melden.

„Die Markenregistrierung stellte uns die Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung, die wir brauchten, um unsere Marke wachsen zu lassen und entsprechend zu schützen. Wir konnten Suchen durchlaufen lassen und verdächtige Angebote melden, und Amazon reagierte sofort.“

Diese Möglichkeiten waren die wichtigsten Voraussetzungen für die Expansion ihres Unternehmens. Es dauerte nicht lange und ihr Kissen war das am meisten nachgefragte Babyprodukt in ganz Europa.
Amazon hat den Weg dafür geebnet. Amazon ermöglichte uns, erfolgreich auf dem europäischen Markt zu sein. Seit 2017 hat sich unser Umsatz Jahr für Jahr verdreifacht. Und 80 % davon läuft über den Amazon Händlershop.
Emil und Giacomo konnten es gar nicht wirklich fassen und waren überglücklich. Aber der Erfolg machte ihnen auch klar, dass sie ihre Marke, den neuen Kundenstamm und ihren guten Ruf entsprechend schützen mussten.
Sie zögerten deshalb keine Sekunde, als Sie Transparency entdeckten – ein Programm von Amazon, dass ihnen bereits im Vorfeld ermöglichte, ihre Produkte und den Kunden aktiv vor Fälschungen zu schützen.

Ein einfaches Verfahren, von Anfang bis Ende

Zu Beginn registrierten Emil und Giacomo nur ein einziges Produkt. Dieses Produkt war ihr Bestseller, und damit besonders gefährdet, Opfer von Fälschungen zu werden.

Die Anmeldung und Einrichtung war einfach und unkompliziert. Aber viel wichtiger war, dass die Vorteile sofort offensichtlich wurden.

„Transparency gibt uns Selbstvertrauen. Jedes einzelne Produkt, das wir verkaufen, verfügt über einen einzigartigen Code, so können potentielle Fälscher nicht von unserer harten Arbeit profitieren.“

Aber nicht nur Emil und Giacomo haben mehr Vertrauen in das Produkt.

„Wir können jedem Kunden, der das Produkt gekauft hat, ermöglichen, die Echtheit des Produkts durch das eigene Smartphone zu verifizieren.“

Der Beitritt zu Transparency erzeugt einen positiven Kreislauf.

Gute Kundenrezension nehmen zu, was den Ruf von Koala Babycare verbessert. Dies regt mehr Kunden dazu an, das Produkt zu kaufen – und so den Umsatz und Einnahmen zu steigern.
Insgesamt hat die Registrierung bei Transparency sofort zu einer Umsatzsteigerung von 10 % geführt.
Emil Ninni and Giacomo RomaniGründer von Koala Babycare

Von stark zu stärker

Die Ankündigung, dass Transparency eine In-App-Kundenbindungsfunktion einführen will, war für Emil und Giacomo eine willkommene Nachricht und sie gehörten zu den ersten, die sich registrieren ließen.

Neben dem Schutz vor Fälschungen ermöglicht dieses Feature dem Kunden, auf reichhaltige Markeninhalte und exklusive Werbeaktionen zuzugreifen. Kunden können außerdem Feedback geben und Erfahrungen mit der Marke auf diversen sozialen Medien teilen. Das alles ist möglich, wenn sie einen Code mit der speziell entwickelten Transparency-App einscannen.

„Das ist eine gewaltige Chance für uns, wir können auf diese Weise den Kunden direkt erreichen, ihn zu Querverkäufen oder Mehrfachkäufen animieren und bessere oder teurere Produkt anbieten – und das alles zu einem idealen Zeitpunkt ... der Kunde hat das Produkt nämlich nicht nur gerade gekauft. Sondern er hat es tatsächlich in der Hand, während er diese Inhalte präsentiert bekommt!“

Emil und Giacomo sind sich sicher, dass dies der Beginn eines neuen Abschnitts in der Geschichte ihres Unternehmens darstellen wird – ihre Marke wird wachsen und größer und besser werden.

Transparenz lohnt sich

Koala Babycare hatte sich hohe Ziele gesetzt – sie wollten das Leben und den Alltag ihrer Kunden verbessern.

Amazon hat es ihnen erst ermöglicht, dieses Ziel auch tatsächlich zu erreichen. Es hat Koala Babycare einer Vielzahl von Kunden zugänglich gemacht und dem Unternehmen die Möglichkeit gegeben, sicherzustellen, dass die Kunden auch weiterhin auf die Marke vertrauen können.

Emil, Giacomo und ihre Kunden können nachts etwas ruhiger schlafen, denn sie wissen, dass die Produkte von Koala Babycare geschützt und authentisch sind.

„Transparency ist seine eigene Garantie. Ich würde es jeder Marke ans Herz legen, die Wert auf ihren Ruf legt und diesen auch in Zukunft schützen will.“
STANDORT
Italy
BRANCH
Baby Care
AMAZON LAUNCH
2017

Setzen Sie sich mit dem Transparency-Team in Verbindung, um mehr zu erfahren.

two Amazon boxes

Lesen Sie weitere Fallstudien

Fallstudien

Express Pet Supplies

Express Pet Supplies ist ein familiengeführtes Online-Unternehmen für Heimtierbedarf, das Qualitätsprodukte verkauft. Um seine Kunden zu beruhigen und die Qualität seiner Produkte und seinen Ruf zu schützen, nimmt Express Pet Supplies an dem Programm Transparency by Amazon zur Verhinderung von Fälschungen teil.
Fallstudien

Ociodual

Sich auf dem Markt für Unterhaltungselektronik und Computerzubehör von der Masse abzuheben, ist eine große Herausforderung. Ociodual schützt die Produktqualität und seinen Wettbewerbsvorteil durch die Nutzung von Amazon-Markenschutzprogrammen, die verhindern, dass böswillige Akteure versuchen, Ihre Produkte zu fälschen.
Fallstudien

Loryarreda.com

Die Nachfrage nach hochwertigen Möbeln hat zugenommen, aber auch die Zahl der Fälscher, die versuchen, die noch nie dagewesene Nachfrage auszunutzen. LoryArreda wehrt sich mit Transparency by Amazon gegen Fälscher.
Fallstudien

Windhorse

Windhorse verkauft Keramik der Güteklasse A von talentierten lokalen Kunsthandwerkern in Thailand. Um zu verhindern, dass ihre Produkte kopiert und als Originale verkauft werden, registriert der Gründer David Richards seine Produkte bei Amazon Brand Registry und trägt sie in Transparency ein, um Fälschungen zu verhindern.
Amazon logo: Germany
© 2022 Amazon.com, Inc. oder Tochtergesellschaften