High-quality pet food as a unique selling point

“When customers buy a particular product, they assume that it has actually come from the brand in question. But that is not always the case. It goes without saying that counterfeits cause enormous harm to a brand’s reputation.”
Daniel Scott
E-commerce manager, Express Pet Supplies

Bon appetit!

When Express Pet Supplies was founded, founder John Mason and E-commerce Manager Daniel Scott were well aware that the whole thing would be far from easy.

Pet owners are among the best informed of all customers. For most people, it is the vet rather than the internet that is the primary and most important source of information when it comes to feeding their animals.

Research has shown that they place just as much value on the quality of the ingredients when buying food for their furry friends as they do when buying their own food — indeed, they may pay even more attention to this with their animals.

For this reason, John and Daniel have made quality the trademark of Express Pet Supplies.

“For us, everything revolves around healthy, nutritious, natural food”, explains Daniel. “Our customers know that we provide them with first-class ingredients.”

No room for fakes

With demanding customers, there is little room for manoeuvre when malicious parties try to profit from a brand's intellectual property and launch a counterfeit version of a premium product.

Customer demands are so high that food freshly prepared at home is the biggest competition for the pet food industry, as customers care so much about the well-being of their animals. Poor quality and counterfeit products can present brands with challenges before they have even seen success on the market.

“When customers buy a particular product, they assume that it has actually come from the brand in question. But that is not always the case. It goes without saying that counterfeits cause enormous harm to a brand’s reputation.”

“Ultimately, customers are not aware of where the product has come from. When they buy a particular brand, they expect to get what they pay for.”

From start-up to serious supplier

Daniel and John’s strategy of placing quality at the heart of their entire business has paid off.

Even though the company only launched its own website in 2014 — a good 14 years after Express Pet Supplies was founded — it has recorded steady growth. And that, according to Daniel, is largely thanks to Amazon.
We’ve sold our products on various websites, but Amazon has really helped us to move forward. Amazon was by far our largest sales channel — we achieved 80–90% of our total revenue through Amazon.
Daniel ScottE-commerce manager, Express Pet Supplies
The company’s success on Amazon prompted it to take its brand even further. The first step was to register the company’s logo and brand name as a trademark.

Building the brand

As soon as the Express Pet Supplies brand was registered, the company signed up to the Amazon Brand Registry. This allowed it to protect its brand and significantly expand its presence on Amazon by signing up for other brand-building programmes available in the Brand Registry.

“Joining the Brand Registry offers a number of benefits.”

“With A+ Content and Sponsored Brands, you can present your brand to a wider audience and really show what you have to offer. This has helped us a great deal in communicating the quality of our products to customers.”

Very important: Joining the Brand Registry has paved the way for the company to register with Transparency. This allows it to benefit from the Brand Protection benefits that this programme offers.

“One word to describe Transparency? Brilliant!”

“With Transparency, customers can see for themselves that the items they receive are genuine. The thing that matters at the end of the day is customer satisfaction, so this really is a great thing.”

As Express Pet Supplies puts customer trust first, the company was one of the first to share content using Transparency’s new app-based customer engagement feature. The company was able to provide more information about the history of its brand and its products, while customers verified the authenticity of the range. This has helped to convince customers and consolidate the brand’s reputation, as Daniel enthusiastically reports.
Customer engagement is a way to provide customers with more information about the products and about the brand itself. This not only gives customers the assurance that they are actually getting what they have ordered, but also ensures a consistent brand message, which in turn strengthens the brand.
Sales and the number of returning customers have also increased — a clear confirmation of the quality of Express Pet Supplies products.

Ready for the future

With pet food sales set to rise sharply over the next five years and the company’s good reputation, Express Pet Supplies’ future prospects are better than ever.

All thanks to Transparency.

“Transparency shows that brand protection is important to Amazon and that Amazon ensures that no low-quality or counterfeit goods are sold on its platform. And it also shows that it is important to you to offer your customers the highest quality.”

“I would definitely recommend Transparency as it has helped us achieve significant growth at very low costs. The investment is definitely worthwhile.”
“Transparency has proven to be a recipe for success for us.
Our sales have increased by an average of 50%. We owe this to our quality, but also to the fact that we were able to prevent our products from being counterfeited. We don’t have to deal with the problem of counterfeits potentially damaging our brand.”
LOCATION
United Kingdom
BRANCH
Pet supplies
AMAZON LAUNCH
2000

Get in touch with the Transparency team to find out more.

Two Amazon boxes

Read more case studies

Case studies

Koala Babycare

Koala Babycare sells some of the most sought-after baby care products in Europe. They chose Transparency by Amazon to proactively protect their products and customers against counterfeiting.
Case studies

Ociodual

Standing out from the crowd in the consumer electronics and computer accessories market is a major challenge. Ociodual protects product quality and its competitive advantage by leveraging Amazon brand protection programmes that prevent malicious actors from attempting to counterfeit their products.
Case studies

Loryarreda.com

The demand for high-quality furniture has increased, as has the number of counterfeiters trying to take advantage of unprecedented demand. LoryArreda defends itself against counterfeiters with Transparency by Amazon.
Case studies

Windhorse

Windhorse sells grade A pottery from talented local artisans in Thailand. To prevent their products from being copied and sold as originals, founder David Richards registers his products with Amazon Brand Registry and enrols them in Transparency to prevent counterfeiting.
Amazon logo: Germany
© 2022 Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates

Hochwertige Tiernahrung als Alleinstellungsmerkmal

„Wenn Kunden ein bestimmtes Produkt kaufen, gehen sie davon aus, dass es tatsächlich von der betreffenden Marke stammt. Doch dies ist nicht immer der Fall. Der Schaden, den Fälschungen Ihrer Reputation zufügen, ist daher natürlich enorm.“
Daniel Scott
E-commerce Manager, Express Pet Supplies

Bon appetit!

Als Express Pet Supplies gegründet wurde, waren sich Gründer John Mason und E-Commerce-Manager Daniel Scott durchaus bewusst, dass das Ganze alles andere als einfach werden würde.

Haustierbesitzer gehören zu den am besten informierten Kunden überhaupt. Für die meisten ist der Tierarzt, nicht das Internet, die erste und wichtigste Informationsquelle, wenn es um die Ernährung ihrer Tiere geht.

Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass sie beim Kauf von Futter für ihre haarigen Freunde ebenso viel Wert auf die Qualität der Zutaten legen wie beim Kauf ihrer eigenen Lebensmittel – wenn sie bei ihren Tieren nicht sogar noch mehr darauf achten.

Aus diesem Grund haben John und Daniel Qualität zum Markenzeichen von Express Pet Supplies gemacht.

„Bei uns dreht sich alles um gesunde, nahrhafte, natürliche Ernährung“, erklärt Daniel. „Unsere Kunden wissen, dass sie bei uns erstklassige Zutaten erhalten.“

Kein Platz für Fälschungen

Angesichts der anspruchsvollen Kundschaft bleibt wenig Spielraum, wenn böswillige Akteure versuchen, vom geistigen Eigentum einer Marke zu profitieren und eine gefälschte Version eines Qualitätsprodukts auf den Markt zu bringen.

Die Ansprüche der Kunden sind so hoch, dass zu Hause frisch zubereitetes Futter die größte Konkurrenz für die Tiernahrungsindustrie darstellt, da den Kunden das Wohlbefinden ihrer Tiere so sehr am Herzen liegt. Schlechte Qualität oder gefälschte Produkte können Marken vor Herausforderungen stellen, bevor sie überhaupt auf dem Markt erfolgreich sind.

„Wenn Kunden ein bestimmtes Produkt kaufen, gehen sie davon aus, dass es tatsächlich von der betreffenden Marke stammt. Doch dies ist nicht immer der Fall. Der Schaden, den Fälschungen Ihrer Reputation zufügen, ist daher natürlich enorm.“

„Letztendlich sind sich die Kunden nicht bewusst, woher das Produkt kommt. Wenn sie eine bestimmte Marke kaufen, erwarten sie, auch das zu bekommen, wofür sie bezahlen.“

Vom Startup zum ernst zu nehmenden Anbieter

Die Strategie von Daniel und John, Qualität in den Mittelpunkt ihrer gesamten Geschäftstätigkeit zu stellen, hat sich ausgezahlt.

Auch wenn das Unternehmen erst 2014 – gut 14 Jahre nach der Gründung von Express Pet Supplies – eine eigene Website bekam, verzeichnete es ein stetiges Wachstum. Und das, so Daniel, hauptsächlich dank Amazon.
Wir haben unsere Produkte auf verschiedenen Websites verkauft, doch Amazon hat uns wirklich weitergebracht. Amazon war unser mit Abstand größter Vertriebskanal – 80 bis 90 % unseres Gesamtumsatzes haben wir auf Amazon erzielt.
Daniel ScottE-commerce Manager, Express Pet Supplies
Der Erfolg auf Amazon veranlasste das Unternehmen, mit seiner Marke noch weiterzugehen. Der erste Schritt dabei war es, das Logo und den Markennamen des Unternehmens als Markenzeichen zu registrieren.

Aufbau der Marke

Sobald die Marke Express Pet Supplies angemeldet war, registrierte sich das Unternehmen bei der Amazon-Markenregistrierung. Auf diese Weise konnte es sein Marke schützen und seine Präsenz auf Amazon erheblich ausweiten, indem es sich für andere Programme zum Markenaufbau anmeldete, die in der Markenregistrierung verfügbar sind.

„Die Teilnahme an der Markenregistrierung bringt zahlreiche Vorteile mit sich.“

„Mithilfe von A+ Content und Sponsored Brands können Sie Ihre Marke einem größeren Kundenkreis präsentieren und wirklich zeigen, was Sie zu bieten haben. Dies hat uns sehr geholfen, den Kunden die Qualität unserer Produkte zu vermitteln.“

Ganz wichtig: Die Teilnahme an der Markenregistrierung hat dem Unternehmen den Weg für eine Anmeldung bei Transparency geebnet. Damit kann es von den Vorteilen für den Markenschutz profitieren, die dieses Programms bietet.

„Transparency in einem Wort? Genial!“

„Mit Transparency können sich Kunden selbst davon überzeugen, dass die erhaltenen Artikel echt sind. Letztendlich zählt die Zufriedenheit der Kunden, daher ist dies wirklich eine tolle Sache.“

Da für Express Pet Supplies das Vertrauen der Kunden an erster Stelle steht, gehörte das Unternehmen zu den ersten, die Inhalte über die neue App-basierte Customer-Engagement-Funktion von Transparency teilten. Das Unternehmen konnte mehr Informationen über die Geschichte seiner Marke und seine Produkte präsentieren, während die Kunden die Authentizität der Produkte prüften. Dies hat dazu beigetragen, die Kunden zu überzeugen und den Ruf der Marke zu festigen, wie Daniel begeistert berichtet.
Customer Engagement ist eine Möglichkeit, den Kunden mehr Informationen über die Produkte und über die Marke selbst zu bieten. Das gibt nicht nur den Kunden die Sicherheit, dass sie tatsächlich bekommen, was sie bestellt haben, sondern sorgt auch für eine konsistente Markenbotschaft und stärkt damit wiederum die Marke.
Auch der Umsatz und die Zahl der wiederkehrenden Kunden sind gestiegen – eine klare Bestätigung für die Qualität der Produkte von Express Pet Supplies.

Bereit für die Zukunft

Da der Umsatz bei Tiernahrung in den nächsten fünf Jahren stark ansteigen wird und das Unternehmen einen guten Ruf genießt, sind die Zukunftsaussichten von Express Pet Supplies besser denn je.

Das alles dank Transparency.

„Transparency zeigt, dass Markenschutz für Amazon wichtig ist und dass Amazon dafür Sorge trägt, dass keine minderwertigen oder gefälschten Waren auf seiner Plattform verkauft werden. Und es zeigt auch, dass es Ihnen wichtig ist, Ihren Kunden höchste Qualität zu bieten.“

„Ich würde Transparency definitiv empfehlen, da es uns bei sehr geringen Kosten zu einem erheblichen Wachstum verholfen hat. Die Investition lohnt sich ganz bestimmt.“
„Transparency hat sich für uns als Erfolgsrezept erwiesen.
Unsere Umsätze sind um durchschnittlich 50 % gestiegen. Dies haben wir unserer Qualität zu verdanken, aber auch der Tatsache, dass wir Fälschungen unserer Produkte verhindern konnten. Wir müssen uns nicht mit dem Problem auseinandersetzen, dass Fälschungen unsere Marke schädigen könnten.“
STANDORT
United Kingdom
BRANCH
Pet Supplies
AMAZON LAUNCH
2000

Setzen Sie sich mit dem Transparency-Team in Verbindung, um mehr zu erfahren.

two Amazon boxes

Lesen Sie weitere Fallstudien

Fallstudien

Koala Babycare

Koala Babycare vertreibt einige der begehrtesten Babypflegeprodukte in Europa. Sie haben sich für Transparency by Amazon entschieden, um ihre Produkte und Kunden proaktiv vor Fälschungen zu schützen.
Fallstudien

Ociodual

Sich auf dem Markt für Unterhaltungselektronik und Computerzubehör von der Masse abzuheben, ist eine große Herausforderung. Ociodual schützt die Produktqualität und seinen Wettbewerbsvorteil durch die Nutzung von Amazon-Markenschutzprogrammen, die verhindern, dass böswillige Akteure versuchen, Ihre Produkte zu fälschen.
Fallstudien

Loryarreda.com

Die Nachfrage nach hochwertigen Möbeln hat zugenommen, aber auch die Zahl der Fälscher, die versuchen, die noch nie dagewesene Nachfrage auszunutzen. LoryArreda wehrt sich mit Transparency by Amazon gegen Fälscher.
Fallstudien

Windhorse

Windhorse verkauft Keramik der Güteklasse A von talentierten lokalen Kunsthandwerkern in Thailand. Um zu verhindern, dass ihre Produkte kopiert und als Originale verkauft werden, registriert der Gründer David Richards seine Produkte bei Amazon Brand Registry und trägt sie in Transparency ein, um Fälschungen zu verhindern.
Amazon logo: Germany
© 2022 Amazon.com, Inc. oder Tochtergesellschaften